Fortnite Alpha Tournament start times, events tab update, Shiny Pin news


Fortnite fans are getting their first taste of the new Alpha Tournament being run by Epic Games.

It’s a brand new feature that was added to the game today via the Fortnite events tab.

The new Tournament options can be found in the in-game Events tab, which will host a range of online competitions.

The good news is that these new competitions will be open to everyone, not just the best players.

Unlike the current Skirmish events being held by Epic Games, Tournaments aren’t so orientated toward eSports and prizes.

However, Epic Games has confirmed that players will be able to collect Shiny Pins, which provide bonuses.

All Tournaments will have a target score and reaching this will award Fortnite players with a shiny pin.

This new item can advance you to the next round of a tournament and also unlock prizes.

Each tournament will have scheduled dates and times and will reset after every run, so no one goes into an event with better stats.

The first Alpha Tournament is a solo event which has started today and will be split between regions but not controller settings.

“We’ve been observing the performance of controller players in our Summer Skirmish, PAX West, and Fall Skirmish tournaments while playing against mouse and keyboard players at the highest levels of competition,” Epic Games confirms in a new post.

“Competitors such as NickMercs, Ayden, KamoLRF, and AmarCoD have shown that controller players can be successful while competing against some of the best PC players in the world.

“Combining everyone into a single competition will allow for players to compete with their friends regardless of platforms and will allow us to place a single shining spotlight onto the world’s best players, increasing prize pools and player exposure from our competitions.”

This will be followed a Duo Beta Tournament, which will kick off next week on October 23, running until October 25.

Tournaments should be live in some regions right now, while others will have to wait until tonight to get started.

Event times will be the same for all days during which the tournament is running, although more will be revealed about the process going forward

Event times for Alpha Tournament in all regions:

NA (Note: NAW & NAE share the same tournament, but matchmaking will be selected by server region)

  • 2300 – 0200 UTC
  • 7 PM – 10 PM ET
  • 4 PM – 7 PM PT

EU

  • 1600 – 1900 UTC
  • 6 PM – 9 PM CEST

BR

  • 2200 – 0100 UTC
  • 7 PM – 10 PM BRT

ASIA

  • 1000 – 1300 UTC
  • 7 PM – 10 PM JST

OCE

  • 0600 – 0900 UTC
  • 5 PM – 8 PM AEDT

Let’s block ads! (Why?)


Source link

What's Your Reaction?

Cry Cry
0
Cry
Cute Cute
0
Cute
Damn Damn
0
Damn
Dislike Dislike
2
Dislike
Like Like
0
Like
Lol Lol
0
Lol
Love Love
0
Love
Win Win
1
Win
WTF WTF
0
WTF

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

More From: Event

DON'T MISS

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Poll
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Story
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
List
The Classic Internet Listicles
Countdown
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Meme
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Video
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Audio
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Image
Photo or GIF
Gif
GIF format